Compare
Compare the five academies
The same questions, answered for each academy from its own pages. Cells link to the source.
Parade field and Washington Hall, West Point. Photo: USMA via Wikimedia Commons, Public domain (U.S. government work).
At a glance
| USNA | USMA | USAFA | USCGA | USMMA | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 8.8% Calculated Class of 2029 · Offers ÷ applications started (1,416 ÷ 16,077) · USNA Class Portrait | 12.5% Calculated Class of 2028 · Admitted ÷ applicants in the Common Data Set (1,534 ÷ 12,316) · USMA Common Data Set 2024–25 | 16.2% Calculated Class of 2026 · Admitted ÷ applicants in the Common Data Set (1,356 ÷ 8,353) · USAFA Common Data Set 2022–23 | 19.9% Calculated Year not stated · Appointments ÷ completed applications (368 ÷ 1,853) · USCGA Typical Class Profile | 27–32% Published Year not stated · Range published by USMMA · USMMA Admissions |
| Location | Annapolis, Maryland | West Point, New York | Colorado Springs, Colorado | New London, Connecticut | Kings Point, New York |
| Graduates serve in | Navy and Marine Corps | Army | Air Force and Space Force | Coast Guard | Maritime industry or any armed service |
| Federal department | Department of the Navy | Department of the Army | Department of the Air Force | Department of Homeland Security | Department of Transportation |
| Nomination | Required | Required | Required | Not required | Required (congressional only) |
| First summer | Plebe Summer | Cadet Basic Training | Basic Cadet Training (6 weeks) | Swab Summer | Indoctrination (“Indoc”) |
| Athletics | NCAA Division I (Patriot League primary) ↗ | NCAA Division I ↗ | NCAA Division I ↗ | NCAA Division III ↗ | 19 varsity sports ↗ |
| Service commitment | At least 5 years as an officer ↗ | 5 years active duty plus 3 in the reserve ↗ | At least 8 years, 5 of them active duty (pilots longer) ↗ | 5 years ↗ | Maritime industry plus reserve, or active duty: several options ↗ |
Each academy defines applicants differently, so these rates aren’t a direct side-by-side comparison. See Admissions data for each figure with its definition.
Cross-academy comparison: deadlines (Class of 2031)
| USNA | West Point | USAFA | USCGA | USMMA | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application opens | April 20261 | Feb. 15, 20262 | Mar. 1, 2026, PCQ3 | July 154 | May 1, 20265 |
| Preliminary-step cutoff | Dec. 31, 2026, no new applications after6 | not found on an official source | Dec. 31, 2026, PCQ3 | n/a (single application) | not found on an official source |
| Early option | Rolling6 | not found on an official source | Rolling, individual deadlines3 | Early Action Oct. 154 | Conditional offers from Sept.7 |
| Final application deadline | Jan. 31, 20276 | Jan. 31, 20278 | Individual, posted in portal; test scores Jan. 313 | Jan. 15, 20274 | Feb. 1, 20275 |
| Nomination deadline to academy (VP application for USNA/USMA/USAFA: Jan. 31, 2027 per White House) | Sources notify by end of Jan.9 | not found on an official source | VP and military-affiliated: Jan. 3110 | None required11 | Received by Jan. 315 |
| Medical deadline | not found on an official source | Complete July 1 – Apr. 12 | Waiver unlikely if not requested by Apr. 112 | Exams by Feb. 15 (EA) / Apr. 1 (RA); qualified by May 14 | Qualified by Apr. 167 |
| Notification | Most by Apr. 156 | not found on an official source | Most by Apr. 213 | EA by Dec. 23; RA by Apr. 14 | not found on an official source |
| Reply by | May 16 | not found on an official source | May 13 | May 14 | May 113 |
Cross-academy comparison: requirements
| USNA | West Point | USAFA | USCGA | USMMA | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age | 17 to not past 23rd birthday on July 11 | 17–22 on July 12 | 17 to not past 23rd birthday on July 13 | 17–22 on last Monday in June4 | 17 to not yet 25 by July 15 |
| Citizenship | U.S. by July 11 | U.S.2 | U.S.3 | U.S.4 | U.S. (limited intl. exceptions)5 |
| Marital/dependents | Unmarried; not pregnant; no dependents1 | Unmarried; no obligation to support children2 | Unmarried; no dependents3 | Unmarried; no dependents or financial debt4 | Not on usmma.edu; CRS lists for all academies6 |
| Nomination | Required1 | Required7 | Required8 | Not required4 | Required; congressional only, statewide5 |
| Tests accepted | SAT/ACT/CLT1 | SAT/ACT/CLT, superscored2 | ACT/CLT/SAT, superscored9 | SAT/ACT4 | SAT/ACT5 |
| Fitness test | 6-event CFA10 | 6-event CFA11 | 6-event CFA3 | Own PFT/PFE: push-ups, plank, 1.5-mi; CFA not accepted12 | CFA, 5 events listed5 |
| Interview | Required, BGO1 | not found on an official source | Required, ALO3 | If requested13 | not found on an official source |
| Medical | DoDMERB1 | DoDMERB14 | DoDMERB3 | DoDMERB; needed before an offer4 | DoDMERB5 |
| Junior summer program | Summer Seminar: 2027 window TBD; $57515 | SLE: Feb. 15–Apr. 15, 2027; $49516 | Summer Seminar: Dec. 1, 2026–Jan. 15, 2027; $40017 | AIM: 2027 not posted (2026: early Feb–Apr. 1; $750)18 | none found; campus visits19 |
| Liaison network | Blue & Gold Officers20 | Field Force / MALOs21 | ALOs, via portal22 | Academy Admissions Partners23 | Admissions Field Reps24 |
- Apply
- Steps
- Req.
- Req.
- 8 Steps
- CRS
- Noms
- Noms
- 11–12
- CFA
- CFA
- PFT Guide
- Apply
- Medical
- NASS
- SLE
- SS
- AIM
- Visits
- BGO
- Volunteer
- Contact
- AAP
- 2017 news
Checked October 17–18, 2026. Confirm on each academy’s official page before you rely on a date.